I am a wedding and party decorator.  My husband and I work together.  My website is …www.mjdecorations.com

Watermelon Pink and Honeydew Green Wedding

Watermelon Pink and Honeydew Green Wedding

Since a picture is worth a thousand words, you can look at our work and get a pretty clear idea of what we do.   I am not a florist, but I will provide silk flowers if necessary.  I plan to post ideas, tips, pictures, and solutions to decorating problems.   The decorating business is somewhat seasonal.  We are flat out with Proms, Graduations, and Weddings starting in April and pretty much continuing into October.  We are in Connecticut, and even though people have corporate  Christmas parties, Bar Mitzvahs, Birthdays and Winter Weddings, it definitely slows down during the winter months.

We have just completed posting all the pictures from May.  We had 3 Weddings, 3 Proms, one Graduation Party, one Wedding Shower, one College Athletic Signing Ceremony, one Communion Party, and one Softball Senior Night.  I LOVE the variety.  Weddings are lovely, but you are pretty much creating the Bride’s vision.  Some of the other parties allow you more creative expression and can be more fun to decorate.

June should be  just as varied with more Weddings and  Graduations.

I am extremely affordable, and more and more people are letting me do the work.  Imagine letting a 17 year old climb a ladder to hang a lantern on a 16′ high ceiling!  Imagine letting your friends and relatives decorate your wedding without having any real experience or resources except the local party store.   Imagine spending lots of money on candle centerpieces, tulle and ribbon that are just trash after the wedding.

I usually work with Brides on a budget and Prom Committees who have limited resources.  Most of my brides know that they want their wedding to look elegant, or sparkly, or simple, but they usually can’t articulate exactly what they want.   I am willing to take a picture of a designer wedding and attempt to translate it into something affordable.  I am starting to use more lighting elements since that seems to be key to creating a more integrated, high end look.

I realize that I can’t travel to Butte, Montana or Queensland, Australia to help you decorate your event.   Maybe you can get some ideas, or decide what you can do  yourself.  If you are a decorator, I would love to share ideas, tips and tricks!

Lighted Hanging Lanterns

Lighted Hanging Lanterns

